Seafood Fest

Seafood boil.jpg

I had planned to write on eagles this week as there are a couple nesting near here, but I realized the 4th weekend was coming up and instead it was compulsory that I post on the eating plans.  We always do our Seafood Boil on the 4th and this will be no exception.  I have a fabulous recipe for the boil and we often will do this in the huge kettle over an open wood fire.  It appears the weather will cooperate.  The above is a favorite of my son John.  The bowl and stand were given to me by my father for just such a meal.

We will also have a mushroom/bacon/swiss cheese frittata with garden tarragon most likely cooked over the wood fire, but the big excitement:

I’m looking forward to introducing my family to a fabulous German pancake, cooked in the enormous cast iron skillet and served with butter and powdered sugar and lemon.  I tried it out last weekend myself and it was a thing of beauty (pictures to be posted next week), rising up like a Yorkshire pudding and texturally reminiscent of a sopapilla or a slightly eggier elephant ear.  The trial was to die for and am hoping my family concurs.

Also new:

We will also do tacos two ways:  Choropollo (Chicken with Chorizo sausage)  and Tacos Carnitas which will be served with slow grilled pulled pork, greens, various chilis, scallions, cilantro and salsa verde, all green for the Carnitas– both new recipes I am trying out on the crew. Pictures and recipes will appear in the new memoir/cookbook I am working on, some of which will also be posted soon.

Ruminations on all this and the eagles next week.  Happy 4th all.

Author: lynnfay73

Disclaimer: Will no doubt revise this almost immediately but for now: I am a mother, wife, daughter, friend, fisherman and writer. (My second novel was released by Wayne State University, spring 2016. I write creative nonfiction -- one received an Honorable Pushcart mention -- but mostly short stories. I am also a class-less (without classes, not without manners, though some might disagree) Assistant Contingent Professor at Northern Michigan University which gives me, you guessed it, more time to mother, daughter, wife, fish, write, etc. (I have recently become "classy" once more having taught Fall 2016 and will be teaching two classes Winter 2017). I live off the grid with my son Josh who has Down Syndrome, various floating family members, and my English shepherd dog Maggie, who loves to herd children, birds, and bunnies. I'm working now on a wood fire memoir titled Woodfire Diaries: Cooking and Writing on the Little Two Hearted River.

Leave a Reply

